Guild Wars 2 Weaponsmithing to 500 on a Budget

After quitting the game since September, I’m coming back for the summer, and hopefully the fall, and I’d like to finally start making ascended weapons.

So my idea to help counter that is to use the many Black Lion Kits I have lying around to save a lot of money. I plan on getting soldier’s, rabid, magi’s, and shaman’s weapons from dungeon tokens and salvaging them to get the inscription. Then I plan on making all of the weapons to get to 500 or at least 480 or so, but I plan on salvaging each one with a BLK to get the inscription back before crafting a different type of exotic weapon with the same inscription. This process will also generate several dark matter globs as well, which is always a plus. The only problems are that ectoplasm, orichalcum, and ancient wood are lost in each new generation of the inscription, but at least salvaging allows me to maintain some of them.

I will also use a crafting booster to help reduce the costs as well. According to gw2crafts.net, I need 23 weapons to get to 500. I’m not sure by how much the booster would reduce that number. I could also stop at 480 or 490 and just make mithrilium, spirit wood residue and upgrade my heaps of bloodstone and crap like that (so I should stock up on obsidian). With all of this combined, I think it could massively defray the cost of getting to 500 in weapon crafting.

I play mainly ele, as well as necro and mesmer, so I was planning on making a dagger first, followed by an axe for necro and a sword for mesmer. I hope that I won’t have to try this with artificer for a while as I hope that fractal daily runs can provide me with an ascended staff eventually (and scepter later on, which I use infrequently), and I’m slowly making the minstrel so I won’t need an ascended focus anytime soon.What do you guys think of this process compared to the normal method for people with more guild wars 2 gold to burn? I won’t start this for another few hours, so please let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

